Sprints decide on Granfondo gold

The second day of the UCI Cycling World Championships had the granfondo races with 1878 riders from 68 different countries all battling in their age group for one of the 20 world titles.

The starts were given with five minutes interval and the mediofondo started off first at 10.00am in the morning.
Norwegian Jorn Fjedavlie won the first rainbow jersey of the day beating two riders from the homecountry Rob Pears and Mike Twelves in a sprint with a group of 50 to win the M60 worldtitle.

Sylvan Adams from Israel, owner of the Israel Premier Tech world tour team got a six seconds gap on the line towards Venezuelan Arnaldo Salazar to win the M65 title. Duthc Ron Paffen completed the podium.

In the M70 category, the two first spots were for France with Liberto Correas winning in a sprint of a large group of 26 before his compatriot Bernard Siguenza and Spanish Luciano Mitxelena Irazoqui.

The M75 worldtitle in the same sprint was for French André Petitpas before Australian John Horsburgh and British Rob Stones.

The final male title in the mediofondo was for James Macdonald from the States, outsprinting John Jones from Great Britain with Roberto McGowan in third.

The women over 50 also got the mediofondo distance as world championships distance with Amy Phillips from the States outsprinting a large group of 31 riders from which 20 were from the F50 category and 11 from the F55 who started together. Swiss Jutta Stienen and Italian Michela Gorini completed the podium.
In the F55 in the same sprint, Belgian Annick Van Leuven won with a large gap to German Ina Pfuhler and Irish Julie Rea.

In the start of the ladies over 60, Suzie Godart was the fastest to win gold in the F60, beating American Lilian Pfluke and Danish Marianne Hald Hesselbjerg.

British Linda Dewhurst surprised French Jeannie Longo to win gold in the F65 in the same sprint while Kathryn Churchill from Britain took gold at a distance.

The final rainbow jersey in the mediofondo was for American Vanessa Cooney beating French Gisele Thureau and Australian Mary Cullen.

The categories racing on the 160km granfondo course started 20 minutes after the last mediofondo start with Belgian Lars Van Coppenolle winning the M19 category with an attack in the last kilometers, winning by 14 seconds to a large group where Italian Matteo Cigala won silver and Swiss Matthias Studer bronze.

The M35 title was for Polish Wojciech Szczepanik before Belgian Fabio Porco and former world champion Stefan Kirchmair from Austria.

Johnny Hoogerland took a second worldtitle after 2021 to win the M40 category in a big bunch sprint before Danish Jeppe Tolboll and Belgian Carlo Porco.

Norwegian Jone Ellingsen won a second world title after the time trial title from 12 years ago during the first UCI Gran Fondo World Championships in Belgium. Portuguese Carlos Brito and Belgian Peter Verstraete completed the podium.

In the M50 category, former pro Alexandr Vinokurov from Kazachstan won his first gold after already having won gold during the London Olympics in 2012. He beated Spanish Raul Patino and Polish Adrian Jach in a sprint of 3.
Defending World Champion Michael Schaefer was the only rider who could renew his title. The German won in a sprint before Belgian Lieven Van de Perre and Canadian ex pro rider Pascal Herve.

The women in the granfondo finally started in two waves with riders under 40 and riders between 40 and 50, all battling for 4 worldtitles.

In the youngest F19 category, a big bunch sprinted for the title with British Emily Proud outsprinting Marine Lenehan and Canadian Michelle Gagnon.

Wies De Jong was the fastest F35 in the same sprint before Belgian Kim Knaeps and Slovenian Petra Pasar.
The F40 title was for British Mary Wilkinson who won the sprint before Swiss Claudia Sutter and Slovenian Lina Cepak.
Belgian Ilse Van der Moeren won the F45 title outsprinting the 2021 world champion Esta Bovill from Canada with Helen Jackson from Britain getting bronze a few minutes later.

The M19 and F40 age groups scored the fastest average speeds, respectively 41,2 and 34.6 km/h.

Share this article