22 new time trial World Champions crowned in Dundee


532 riders from 55 different countries had registered to compete in the second discipline of the 2023 UCI Gran Fondo World Championships with races against the clock on the A92 Dual Carriageway in Dundee.

Leaving from the start podium as first rider at 10.00, American Sarah Powers crowned herself as first new world champion of the day in the F80 category.

In the F70 categoy, Mary Cullen (NZL) won with more than 4 minutes to Vanessa Cooney (USA) and Gisele Thureau (FRA).

Jeannie Longo (FRA) added another title to her rich track record beating the new road world champion Linda Dewhurst (GBR) in the F65 category by 1m19 while Diane Schleicher (USA) got third at exactly 4 minutes.

Sarah Matthews (GBR) brought the first gold medal in for the home country in the F60 category, 48 seconds ahead of Ruth Clemence (USA) with Andrea Nightingale (GBR) in third place at 2m10.
Angela Carpenter (GBR) won a second British gold in the F55 before Elin Gronvik (NOR) and Ivana Cicchelli (AUS) at respectively 1m14 and 1m33.

The F50 category was dominated by Adelheid Schutz (GER), defending world champion who beated Molly Van Houweling (USA), former world hour record holder by 1m03 with Marijke De Smedt (BEL) as third at 1m05.

The title in the F45 was also for the outgoing world champion as Sonja Moi (NOR) beated Jeannie Blakemore (NZL) by 55 seconds with Naomi De Pennington (GBR) as third at 2m04. Moi also scored the fastest overall female time of the day in an average speed of 43.9 km/h.

Anna Rzasowska (POL) was the fastest in the F40 age group with a small 9 second margin to Jennifer George (GBR) and Rebecca Seal (GBR) who got the bronze 1m22 behind Rzasowska.

Two Germans battled for the gold in the F35 category with Kimberly Miller (GER) winning before her compatriot Laura Tibitanzl (GER) while Jenny Asplund (SWE) got overall third.

The last category with the youngest women had a close battle with the defending World Champion Jessica Rhodes-Jones (GBR) renewing her title for the third consecutive year in a row, beating Lisanne Heemskerk-Immerzeel (NED) by 12 seconds with former world champion Laura Simenc (SLO) as third at 23 seconds.

A small break because of a crash started the second wave of participants with all men competing from old to young.

Brian Lewis (GBR) was the first new male World Champion in the M85 category.

Marcel Eve (FRA) was the second men to wear the coveted rainbow jersey winning his M80 category before Robert McGowan (GBR) and Herbert Lackner (AUT).

André Petipas (FRA) beated Ed Chamberlin (USA) by only 3 seconds to take the M75 title with John Horsburgh (AUS) in third. Petipas also won the granfondo on Friday.

In the M70 category, Paul Mowery (GBR) stood on the highest step of the podium surrounded by Gilles Pellet (FRA) and Johann Taucher (AUT).

The new M65 world champion was also the man who won the granfondo gold on Friday as Sylvan Adams (ISR), owner of the Israel Premier Tech team was 1m04 faster than Javier Benet Fabregas (ESP) and outgoing world champion Gary Painter (USA).

Kevin Tye (GBR) beated Brendan Sullivan (USA) and Mike Twelves (GBR) by respectively 12 and 15 seconds to add another title to his track record winning the M60 jersey.

The M55 category had defending world champion Richard Oakes (GBR) renewing his title from Trento 2022 with road world champion Michael Schaeffer (GER) in second and Robert Nunes (CRC) in third.

The M50 rainbow jersey was for Girts Vevers (LAT) with a close gap to Raul Patino (ESP) and Richard Brook (GBR).

Andy Critchlow (GBR) beated road world champion Jone Ellingsen (NOR) and his compatriot Matthew Smith (GBR) to take victory in the M45 age group.

Simon Wilson (GBR) added another gold for the home country with a large gap to Paul Kennedy (IRL) and Jeppe Heinfelt Tolboll (DEN). Wilson also rode the fastest overall time of the day in an average speed of 50.5 km/h

Michele Paonne (LIE) took a first ever title for the tiny little country of Liechtenstein, winning the M35 category in a time who was 13 seconds faster than Wojciech Szczepanik (POL) and 31 seconds faster than Jonny Allen (GBR)

The last gold was for Guillaume Seye (BEL) who won 18 seconds ahead of Espen Helgesen (NOR) while Will Lowden (GBR) took the last medal of the day at 30 seconds.

Two riders got the double with Sylvan Adams and Andre Petipas in the M65 and M75 categories.

Full results can be checked on https://www.tissottiming.com/2023/gfowch.

Share this article