Ellie Parry and Benjamin McDonough to win Tour de Brisbane

With starts in downtown Brisbane at Gregory Terrace and a scenic 110km Gran Fondo through the city, the 2022 Tour de Brisbane could finally host a large peloton again after two difficult years during the pandemic.

Riders started with intervals of 5 minutes per age group with the M19-34 age group scoring the fastest overall times. Benjamin McDonough won the race in a sprint before Kevin Biffiger and Connor Erasmus.

All female age categories started together at 7am with Ellie Parry (F19-34) winning the race before Katie Bannerjee (F45-49) and Nicky Rolls (F50-54).

The average speed of both winners was respectively 38.8 and 36.3 km/h

This year, the event also hosted for the first time a time trial on Saturday in nearby Rosewood. Mark Croonen and Anne Elliott were the winners of that first edition.

Share this article