Daza Asumendi for first time, Vaz to renew 2018 win

Granfondo Ezaro scored another participants' record with 1500 riders attending the 2019 edition on challenging Galician roads with three mayor climbs on the slightly updated 150km course. The 85km short course skips the south loop and one of the climbs.

Remarkable guests at the start were former competitors Miguel Indurain and Claudio Chiappucci who battled for the Tour de France victories in the early ’90s, but also Oscar Perreiro (Tour de France winner in 2006) and Russian Pavel Tonkov.

Portuguese David Vaz could renew his 2018 victory by finishing 26 seconds ahead of Angel Sanchez Rebollido while Rafael Ferreira finished in third 44 seconds behind Vaz who completed the distance in an average speed of 36.1 km/h. He also scored the fastest time on the steep Mirador do Ezaro finish climb with parts up to 30%.

Monica Daza Asumendi was the fastest female on the long course in an average speed of 29.8 km/h beating her compatriots Maria Gomez Parla and Aranzazu Garcia Gonzalez for victory.

The short 85km who counted as official qualifier distance for all riders over 65 was won by Tiago Fernandes Castro and Barca Toba Suarez while French Yves Vitalis was the fastest in the 65+.

Share this article