21 new time trial World Champions crowned in Trento

The 2022 UCI Gran Fondo World Championships in Trento started today officially with the 19.6km flat and fast time trial.

Maria Zander (GER) was the first lady to leave the startplatform at 9.00am in the morning and crowned herself as the first new world champion in the F70-74 age group.

Jozefa Anzel (SLO) renewed her worldtitle from Bosnia last season beating Deborah Sheridan (GBR) and former world champion Marti Valks (NED) by 6 and 30 seconds. In the F60-64 age category, Jeannie Longo (FRA) scored her 9th title in the UCI Gran Fondo World Championships beating Malgorzata Czerny (POL) and Andrea Nightingale (Guernsey) by respectively 1m01 and 1m44.

The new world champion in the F55-59 category is former world champion Maria Cristina Prati (ITA) who won the first gold for the home country and the fourth gold for her personal career beating her compatriot Olga Cappiello (ITA) and Jane Despas (AUS).

Larissa Drysdale (NED) renewed her Sarajevo 2021 world title before Kerstin Brachtendorf (GER) and Marijke De Smedt (BEL) to win the F50-54 age group.

In the F45-49 category Adelheid Schütz (GER) added a fourth worldtitle to her list beating Marina Tige (FRA) and former multiple world champion Molly Van Houweling (USA) by respectively 46 and 52 seconds.

Sonja Moi (NOR) was for the first time world champion in time trial winning her F40-44 age group by 52 seconds to the former triple world champion and defending world champion Cecilia Hansen (SWE) while Anna Rzasowska (POL) got third 3 seconds later. Sonja also scored the fastest overall female time of the day being the only one below 28 minutes in an average speed of 52.76 km/h.

Faye Faber (GBR) took gold in the F35-39 age group before Petra Pasar (SLO) and Alessia Bortoli (ITA).

The youngest age group was again a battle between defending world champion Jessica Rhodes Jones (GBR) and vice world champion Laura Simenc (SLO) who finished together on the line with Jessica bridging the gap to take her third rainbow jersey. Jullia Schallau (GER) took overall third.

The oldest man at the start was Arthur Duncan (RSA) who won his M85-89 age group at the age of 87.

The M80-84 age group was easily won by Mecislavs Bartusevics (LAT) with a gap of almost three minutes to Herbert Lackner (AUT) and Petr Vatlach (CZE).

Christina Gibelin (FRA) shared the podium with his compatriot Pierre Moreau (FRA) and Gunnar Fjellberg (NOR) to take another world title in the M75-79.

In the M70-74, Rudolf Sluyts (BEL) added a fifth title to his career moving up in the hall of fame. The defending world champion was faster than Christian Boeuve (FRA) and Jac Roemermann (NED) by respectively 7 and 23 seconds.

Gary Painter (USA) also added a new title after winning his last title many years ago. The American was faster than Michael Barfoed (DEN) and Felix Widmer (SUI). Alan Nelson (AUS) won the M60-64 in a fast 45km/h to successfully defend his title beating former world champion Kevin Tye (GBR) and Dirk Claes (BEL).

Also Greg Swinand (IRL) renewed his 2021 rainbow jersey in a close fight with Michael Schaeffer (GER) and Frank Erk (GER).

Richard Oakes (GBR) was the fastest in the M50-54 age group beating Staffan Sandberg (SWE) and Yngvar Hansen (NOR) who were split for second and third by on only 23 hundreds of a second.

Giampaolo Busbani (ITA) took the second Italian gold of the day before former multiple world champion Igor Kopse (SLO) and Filip Speybrouck (BEL) in the M45-49 age group. Laurent Derain (FRA) renewed his M40-44 world title from Sarajevo last year in a faster time than Paul Kennedy (IRL) and Johan Nordlund (FIN).

The M35-39 age group was for Jan Swiercz (POL), 10 seconds ahead of Sascha Dittfurth (GER) and Diego Venturi (ITA).

The last world title of the day was for Loick Dussol (FRA) who rode the fastest overall time of the day, winning the M19-34 age category in an average speed of 47.74 km/h, 12 seconds faster than Jari Verstraeten (BEL) with Valentin Szalay (GER) in third.

Share this article