Zakarin and Christoforou to win Cyprus Granfondo

461 riders from 31 different countries signed up for the only stage race in the UCI Gran Fondo World Series.

In the 20km time trial, Aidar Zakarin (RUS) won in a time of 30:26 (39.5km/h average speed), just one second ahead of Constantinos Antonou (CYP) and David Ashton (GBR).

First female was local Anti Christoforou who was 3 minutes faster than Meredith Byrne (USA) and Matea Deliu (GBR).

On Saturday, riders had to do a challenging 96km mountain stage with 1500m of elevation. Swiss Guillaume Bourgeois won the stage in a time of 2h19, 24 seconds ahead of Nicola Loda (ITA) and Sergey Vroublevski (BUL).

First female in the queen stage was again Antri Christoforou (CYP) who renewed her win in the time trial in a time of 2h25. Matea Deliu now took second while Meredith Byrne got overall third.

In the final short stage on Sunday over 54km, Ross Fawcett (GBR) won before Stavros Theophanous (CYP) and Nicola Loda (ITA), all within short distance from each other

First female on Sunday was again Antri Christoforou who marked a perfect score with her third win with Elena Pancari and Matea Deliu completing the podium.

In the overall ranking, Russian Aidar Zakarin took the GC with Antri Christoforou being first female.

Share this article