2019 time trail World Champions crowned in Poznan

After 22 qualifier events, riders could finally show their condition and power during the final event of the year in Poznan (Poland) during the 2019 UCI Gran Fondo World Championships.

New this year is that all age groups got official titles, jerseys and medals from the moment that one riders signed up, resulting in 20 new world champions from 14 different nationalities.

Overall fastest on the 18.3km was American Brock Mason (M19-34) in a time of 23:08 for an average speed of 46.6km/h, ten seconds faster than Danish Anders Moustgard who the M45-49 world title and Polish Miroslaw Wojciak who won the M40-44 rainbow jersey.

The fastest female of the day was Polish Ewa Bankowska (M35-39) in a time of 25:44 and an average speed of 41.9 km/h, 12 seconds faster than German Adelheid Schütz (F45-49) and 15 seconds to Molly Van Houweling (F45-49).

The new World Champions per category:
M19-34: Brock Mason (USA)
M35-39 : Tommi Martikainen (FIN)
M40-44 : Miroslaw Wojciak (POL)
M45-49 : Anders Moustgaard (DEN)
M50-54 : Gregory Swinand (IRL)
M55-59 : Mario Fernandez Martinez (ESP)
M60-64 : Vladimir Kuznetsov (RUS)
M65-69 : Gilles Pellet (FRA)
M70-74 : Gary Ferguson (NZL)
M75-79 : Pierre Moreau (FRA)
M80+ : Michel Lacomme (FRA)
F19-34 : Laura Simenc (SLO)
F35-39 : Ewa Bankowska (POL)
F40-44 : Amelie Kolweyh (GER)
F45-49 : Adelheid Schutz (GER)
F50-54 : Anna Davis (AUS)
F55-59 : Karen Hviid Christensen (DEN)
F60-64 : Jeannie Longo (FRA)
F65-69 : Lena Lundstrom (SWE)
F70+ : Janet Ackermann (SUI)

France is with 4 world titles the strongest nation in the time trial.

Share this article